Everybody knows the chicken nugget thing.

By now, everybody has noticed that McDonalds chicken nuggets come in only about 6 shapes. One looks like a boot, or Italy… or Indiana if you’re a redneck. Another nugget is perfectly round, and one is oblong, but the shapes are consistent across the nation. Supporting evidence shows that the shapes are consistent across the globe. They are the same few shapes, everybody knows this.

But has anybody noticed the white spot on the bottom of McDonald’s buns? As a kid I announced to the rest of my family, holding the bun aloft, “This is the belly button!” I made an understandable connection at the time. I was the oldest of four, with many younger cousins and neighbors. I had a touchy-feely mother. I was familiar with belly buttons and the concept of maternal nourishment. I ate McDonalds almost every day, and loved and needed the round burger. Surely, it had a mother, too….

But really, what is the white spot, and what does it want from us?

This entry was posted in childhood, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Everybody knows the chicken nugget thing.

  1. Organic Meatbag says:

    I never thought about the white spot on the bun before…now I’m just too freaked out to theorize about it…

Leave a Reply

