Online Recipe Rolodex

English: A display of six ears of field corn w...

English: A display of six ears of field corn with dented yellow kernels (Zea mays var. indentata) which won ribbons for “best of show” at the Steele County Fair in Owatonna, Minnesota (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Of all the trashy Thanksgiving food available, the one I most give thanks for is corn pudding. Though I can’t put too much thought into the dish without being turned off (corn? pudding?), I will happily devour as much as I can during the holiday season window of opportunity. This year, I decided to bring my Mamaw’s famous corn pudding. Pretty much everything she makes is famous, so it’s really a question of degree and opinion.

This is my version of her recipe:

1 32 ounce bag of frozen corn, thawed… or 2 16 ounce bags, you’re gonna divide it anyway. Just no canned or cream of corn. Don’t do it. My Mamaw actually gave me a withering sign when I suggested it. “No, honey” (long pause) “That’s not the same.”

1/2 teaspoon of finely diced habanero

1/2 cup chopped onion, up to 1 cup if you like onion

1/2 cup sugar

1 stick of butter

3 heaping tablespoons of flour

6 beaten eggs

3 cups milk. I used 2%

maybe a half teaspoon of salt, more if your butter is unsalted

Put the onion and half the thawed corn in a food processor and blend until fairly smooth. Beat the eggs. Mix the remaining corn into the warmed milk, along with the sugar, butter, flour and pepper.

Now mix it all together and bake in a 9×13 cake pan at 350F for about an hour. Uncovered.

I scored this recipe by walking through Walmart on Black Friday, listening to my Mamaw and Aunt good-naturedly bicker over the finer points of the recipe. I saw and heard very strange things.

If you want to see more recipes, check out these posts:
Food, a retrospective in which I cover the recipes I love
How not to make dumplings, in 30 harrowing steps
Recipes I’d like to try, including a sour cherry pie that I did try and it is amazing.

And also my favorite recipe site EVER: Cooking for Engineers. You don’t have to be an engineer.

This entry was posted in cooking, family, kentucky, midwest and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Online Recipe Rolodex

  1. Pingback: Food: A Retrospective « Tailey Po'

Leave a Reply

